The deadline for applications to join the committee that oversees the States-owned trading operations will close on Friday (30 June).

The States’ Trading Supervisory Board (STSB) is looking to recruit a new Non-States Member to replace Stuart Falla CBE, and is inviting applications from islanders with a strong business background and Board-level experience.

The STSB, which comprises three States Deputies and two Non-States Members, oversees the States Trading Group. That includes Guernsey Ports, Guernsey Water, States Works, Guernsey Dairy, Guernsey Waste, and the Channel Islands Lottery.

It also includes Aurigny, Guernsey Electricity, JamesCo and Guernsey Post, which have been established as separate companies, each with its own independent Board of Directors. The STSB acts as the shareholder representative on behalf of the States of Guernsey.

STSB president Deputy Peter Roffey said the Non-States Member role requires someone with extensive leadership experience, who can help provide key direction for the Group.

“We are looking for someone with experience of running a business or businesses in the private sector, who can bring that expertise to help the States-owned trading operations.

“As trading entities, our operations are funded primarily by charging for the services they provide, rather than from taxation. They also look after much of the island’s critical infrastructure, and provide essential services that islanders – our customers – rely on, 365 days a year.

“Our role, as STSB, is to provide strategic direction, just as the Board of Directors of a company will do.  Having non-political representatives with current or recent private sector experience provides a valuable external perspective and challenge, similar to the role of a non-executive director in a private business.

“We oversee a very diverse portfolio, which is certainly unique in the local context. So we hope it will appeal to business people looking for a new challenge, who can bring their commercial experience to help shape the future direction of some of the island’s most important operations.”

Mr Falla will stand down once a successor has been elected by the States of Deliberation, which is expected to be in September. The successful applicant will initially be appointed to complete the remainder of his term of office, which runs until June 2024.

The STSB’s other Non-States Member, Dr Simon Thornton, was elected in 2021, and his current term of office is due to expire in 2026.

Unlike most other States Committees, which can appoint non-States Members to sit in an advisory capacity, Mr Falla and Dr Thornton are both full voting Members of STSB.

The other members are Deputy Roffey, and Deputies Charles Parkinson and Nick Moakes.

Mr Falla was one of the original non-States Members appointed to the STSB, following its creation in 2016, and has served under three presidents.

Deputy Roffey paid tribute to his contribution.

“Stuart’s contribution to the States’ Trading Supervisory Board has been quite exceptional. He played a big part in developing the STSB since its inception, and I’d particularly like to thank him for the work he has done as Chair of both Guernsey Ports and the Dairy Management Board, and in supporting the shareholder function of STSB.  It’s been a pleasure to work alongside Stuart and to see him apply his immense experience, energy and knowledge to the benefit of the people of Guernsey.”

Anyone interested in applying for the role can find full details at, or by contacting